The village of Heinkenszand on Zuid-Beveland lies along the A58, Zeeland’s only motorway.

Eintjeszand was created in the 14th century by reclaiming land on a sand flat between two waterways. That sand flat belonged to someone named Hein or Heinken (and zand means sand), so thus the village got its name.

Heinkenszand once had two great manor houses: Watervliet and Barbestein. Watervliet, built in 1588, stood in what is now Van Citters Forest. Barbestein is also gone; only its stronghold and moat remain. The Roman Catholic church and cemetery now stand in its place.

A neo-gothic Roman Catholic church called Sint-Blasiuskerk was erected in 1866. It is named after Saint Blasius, the patron saint of those suffering from throat ailments. It is said that he cured a child choking on a fishbone, an everyday fear for people living so close to the sea.

Watervliet was part of the larger Landlust Estate. This is now a beautiful forest park, locally known as Van Citters Forest. The park also has a historical farm and a coach house that is still in use.


The Stelleplas recreational area lies on the outskirts of Heinkenszand. Sand was excavated here to build the A58 motorway, and the not unintended result was a recreational lake. It offers excellent fishing, and there are a campsite and swimming pool nearby.

There are regular events in and around Heinkenszand. Check out our event calendar to discover what is going on where.


Zwembad Stelleplas

  • attraction
  • day out
  • heinkenszand
Related tags: