Just down the A58 highway from Goes-the-shops, ‘s-Heer Arendskerke is a fine specimen of a Zuid-Beveland village.
It was established around 1100 on the banks of the Schenge, a channel that used to run from Zuid-Beveland to the island of Wolphaartsdijk. The once-heaving harbour, now long gone, was well-connected: Veere, Antwerp, Rotterdam, Goes, local villages … Hop on board! Heer Arend, of the Van Schenge lineage, is the Lord of the castle who lent his name to the village. The castle is no longer, its stones having been used to reinforce dikes.
The village (‘dorp’) is a typical blend of a ring village with a main street, now the Vermetstraat, tucked in. Its attractive church and ring are still intact. Both the main building and tower of the Petruskerk, also known as the Dorpskerk, are listed monuments.
In the adjoining hamlet of Eindewege (end-of-the-line), the Nooit Gedacht corn windmill stands out, visible from afar. The name = ‘who would have thought? …’ Built in 1872, it replaced the original mill destroyed in a fire. That same year, the main railway line was laid. Its workforce needed housing, hence Eindewege.
The main dike, now the Oude Rijksweg, is part of the first dike built in Zuid-Beveland. On the village outskirts, you’ll find many old and listed farmhouses. One such is the early 17th-century Arendshoeve – a ‘hoeve’ is a farmstead, Next to its majestic main house is a baking shed, and a large wooden barn with a hip roof of reed thatching. A scale replica of it all stands in the Madurodam model town up in The Hague. Not our province, but worth a detour!
Another type of farm is Speelboerderij ‘t Klok’uus play centre. Its large covered and open-air playgrounds offer the perfect blend of all-weather fun, for all ages, no less. More details of this and other attractions are in the ‘see and do’ section of the VVV Zeeland website.